November 9 by Colleen Hoover Review

25111004

Okay so this will be my first blog post, so to start off with I’ll give a little non spoilery review of this book then I’ll dive into my spoilery thoughts.

November 9 is a stand alone romance book about two new adults named named Fallon and Ben. Fallon and Ben meet at a restaurant one November 9 and the 2 of them hit it off, unfortunately Fallon is moving to another city the next day so they cannot be together this causes them to make a pact to meet every year on November 9th and only have contact with each other on that day, this includes phone calls and social media. The book then goes throughout all their November 9’s from when they are 18 to 23 and along the way they experience love, heartache and face life’s challenges. Also secrets and lies ensue in the book and that is all I can say about the plot without spoiling.

My thoughts on the book are that I thought the plot-line of meeting on November 9 was very interesting and fun to read about. It really brought a new dynamic to what could have been a regular romance book. This is because the characters we saw every November 9 were different they had grown changed and we as a reader changed and grew with them, which was endearing. I enjoyed the character of Ben he was the funny artsy guy we all fall for in movies and t.v. shows who sees things in the female lead that she cannot see in her self. Granted he did have his flaws he was a bit too forceful at times and needed to respect boundaries a bit more also some of his decisions weren’t the best but he did care about Fallon overall and was likable. I didn’t like Fallon as much she seemed a bit too mousy, I get it considering her situation but I kinda wished she was a bit more assertive without Ben coaxing her into it. However she was a very brave and strong girl and handled herself quite well in the end considering all she went through. the side characters were funny, mysterious and interesting which is what they needed to be. As with any Colleen Hoover Book this book wasn’t without it’s fair share of tragedy but it also involved a lot of sweet, passionate and loving moments. By the end of the book I felt exhilarated about the whirlwind of a book I had just read and was left contemplating life and how the decisions you make effect the outcome. I definitely recommend it for lovers Of CH and lovers of romance with a bit of mystery and some life lessons sprinkled in.

SPOILERS AHEAD

I have to admit the finale plot twist with Ben causing the fire really threw me I was not expecting it at all but I thought it was wonderfully interwoven throughout the book and really brought a new feel to the whole story in the end. My favouite scene would have to be in the Second November 9 when Ben and Fallon went to the beach and Ben got the tattoo I though it was sweet and loving and also the calm before the storm of the next November 9. Which speaking of, Kyle’s death after only just getting married a few pages ago for us readers, was so sad and heartrending especially when he was leaving his pregnant wife behind but it was also the setting for the most beautiful scene between Ben and Fallon when he opened the door and there she was.

Rating: 😻😻😻😻🐱 4/5 

Favourite Quotes

“One of the things I always try to remind myself is that everyone has scars,” she says. “A lot of them even worse than mine. The only difference is that mine are visible and most people’s aren’t.”

“When you’re willing to give up the things that mean the most to you just to see someone else happy, that’s real love.”

“I’m in love with her. Like, really in love with her. Crippling, debilitating, paralyzing love.”

“Goals are achieved through discomfort and hard work. They aren’t achieved when you hide out in a place where you’re nice and cozy.”

“He’s funny!'” Glen says, as if that’s a legit defense. 😂

Zeina

 

 

Leave a Reply

